# Tuesday, September 8, 2020

# 1. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance (2:220)

President Sharron Davis called the meeting to order at 5:05pm.

### 2. Roll Call (2:220)

The following members were present: Mrs. Taylor, Mrs. Natalie Myers, Ms. Joyce Dickerson, Ms. Barbara Nettles, Ms. Jordan (via phone) and Ms. Sharron Davis. The following members were absent: Ms. Elaine Walker.

Also present were: Dr. Kimako Patterson, Superintendent, Mrs. Julia Veazey, Assistant Superintendent, Mrs. Deborah Clayton, Chief School Business Official, Mrs. Carrie Ablin, Director of Student Services and Dr. Kenneth Scott, Assistant Superintendent.

### 3. Superintendent's Update

Dr. Patterson informed the Board that the ECHO staff members began occupying the old Junior High School September 8, 2020.

### 4. 2020 - 2021 Class Enrollment

Dr. Patterson shared with the Board Class Enrollment numbers (daily spreadsheets uploaded) from August 26-September 4, 2020.

## 5. 2020-2021 Budget

Mrs. Clayton reported to the Board that there were only a few changes to the Budget since the August Budget Presentation. Mrs. Clayton is seeking approval at the September 21, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

### 6. Construction Update

Mrs. Clayton shared that the 2020 Construction Projects are 90% complete. Mrs. Clayton shared that the District's Buildings and Grounds Department continue to deep clean as construction is completed.

#### 7. FY21 Outside Contracts

Mrs. Veazey presented FY21 Renewal Contracts for the following outside contractors; Diane Gacek, Renee Merrick, Dr. Stephen Parker, Sharon Rak and Dr. Predonna Roberts. Mrs. Veazey is seeking approval at the September 21, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

#### 8. New Vendor- Sanitation Tech Solutions

Dr. Scott presented Sanitation Tech Solutions to the Board, a 3<sup>rd</sup> party sanitation company for deep cleaning and sanitizing should a COVID-19 outbreak occur. Dr. Scott is seeking approval at the September 21, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

## 9. Outside Contract: Proximity Learning Spanish I & II

Mrs. Veazey presented the FY21 Proximity Learning to continue Spanish I & II only. Mrs. Veazey is seeking approval at the September 21, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

# 10. Substitute Wage Increase

Dr. Scott informed the Board that the Cook County wage has increased and that the current District wage should increase to \$13/hour to be in compliance. Dr. Scott is seeking approval at the September 21, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

## 11. ATC Healthcare Services FY21 Contract

Mrs. Ablin presented the FY21 contract renewal for the ATC Healthcare Services. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the September 21, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

## 12. Audience Participation

N/A

#### 13. New Business

Dr. Patterson shared with the Board that the positivity rate for our region (Region 10), has decreased to 6.1%. She continues to monitor the numbers and will keep everyone informed. Next, Dr. Patterson informed the Board that she recently wrote for a grant through the Southland Juvenile Justice System on Restorative Justice. After which, Dr. Patterson stated that Dr. Rob Grossi of Crystal Financial, is currently working on the FY21 Contract and that she would like to present it during the Regular Business Meeting for approval.

## 14. Executive Session (2:200)

Ms. Dickerson moved and it was seconded by Mrs. Myers to go into Executive Session. The following members voted aye: Mrs. Taylor, Ms. Dickerson, Mrs. Myers, Ms. Nettles, Ms. Jordan (via phone) and Ms. Davis. Nays: None. Ms. Walker.

Motion Carried 6:10p.m.

Mrs. Taylor moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to adjourn the Executive Session. The following members voted aye: Ms. Dickerson, Mrs. Taylor, Ms. Nettles, Ms. Jordan (via phone), Mrs. Myers and Ms. Davis. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Walker.

Motion Carried 6.15p.m.

# 15. Adjournment (2:200)

Ms. Dickerson moved and it was seconded by Mrs. Myers to adjourn the September 8, 2020 Work Session. On voice vote, all members present voted aye: Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Walker.

Motion Carried 6:15p.m.

Submitted by,

**Sharron Davis, President** 

**Barbara Nettles, Secretary**